Things You Need for a Successful Start to Your Weight Loss Journey (emotional obstacles and the support you need)


Embarrassed to admit, that my weight loss plan is not really… going. When I was young, losing weight was so easy. If I put my mind to it, inches came off with barely no effort at all. To this day, I still claim “losing weight is easy, once I try.” That’s the main thing… have I tried hard enough? What are my barriers? Why am I not committed to this even after I write to the whole world that I’m doing this!? Again… I resort to making lists.

THINGS YOU NEED TO (START) A WEIGHT LOSS JOURNEY
(things you need to (start) getting skinner!)

1).  Bad habits stopped Losing weight, especially STARTING the process, can be near impossible if you still carry bad habits like: smoking, frequent alcohol use, buying junk food, skipping meals, not getting enough sleep, etc. etc.  *JUST STOP — if you want to START this path to a healthier life…

2).  A support system  |  It can be really hard if the people closest to you, your partner and friends, are not supportive of you. Support comes in all forms the biggest one can be emotional support. I find it difficult to be motivated if someone keeps calling me fat and pointing out my flaws. And I would much rather hear “You can do it, let’s go on walks together” as opposed to “You keep saying you are going to lose weight, get off your lazy butt and do it.” In some cases (I’d argue most) it does the opposite of helping. A solid support system is a must. It’s hard to do it alone, emotionally.

3).  Measurement tools  I’m not just talking about a scale, calorie counters, mile trackers… I’m talking more about your own personal way to measure failures, success, and most importantly progress.. (and then talking about the progress and things that are working can be just as much a help…. hence, this blog (for me). ***I should be sharing my progress and failures with you.

4).  Self Awareness   |  Kind of goes with the above ^ Do I even know how much I’m losing or intaking everyday. And that is speaking about more than just food? How do I respond to world as I go on with my day? Am I happy and fulfilled? Do I enjoy my life? Ask someone in your life if they notice differences –  not in your looks/weight – maybe ask them about your general outlook on life, attitude, work ethic, etc. Chances are if you are unmotivated, unhappy in your job, in a bad relationship, etc. etc…. it can contribute to a failed weight loss attempt. Know yourself in and out! Weight loss truly starts on the inside!

I know what I have to do to really jumpstart this weight loss process. And in making this list (and plenty others) I am becoming more aware of exactly what is stopping me – and how I need to support myself better in this effort. I invite you to share your experiences about losing weight, and how you overcame the obstacles that were keeping you from simply… STARTING.

Until next time!

photo

Leave a Comment, Tell me What you Think!

